Marketing operations

Systems + tech

Business operations

Team operations

Client operations

Categories:

I help service-based professionals and creative agencies build scalable backend operations that support growth and sustainability in business using ClickUp as the operational base.

Hi, I'm Jena

ClickUp is a powerful tool that can make your life so much easier. If you’ve never done one of my ClickUp 101 trainings, you know that I’m all about learning basics of ClickUp and how to utilize the functionalities. You really want to start to think about applying those functionalities to our business processes and our business in general.

One of the topics that come up is a lot is members versus guests.

Let’s dive in!

So, you might be wondering . . . 

What is the difference between members and guests anyway?

As a ClickUp user, you can assign guests, members, admins, owners and custom roles in your Workspace. 

You can invite two types of users to your Workspace. Add users to your team by inviting them as members or guests.

  • Members are people within your organization who directly participate and contribute to your workspace.
  • Guests are people outside your organization who need to make a limited contribution to specific items in your Workspace.

]

Inviting people to your workspace

Only Workspace owners and admins can invite people from the Workspace Settings page. Send one or more people an invite to join your Workspace as a member. Guests can only be invited by sharing items.

  1. Click on your Workspace avatar (lower-left corner.)
  2. Select People.
  1. Enter one or more email addresses to the Invite by email field.
    1. You can add more than one email address by creating a list of email accounts separated by commas or on separate lines.
    2. Copy and Paste the email addresses into the Invite by email field.
  2. When you invite a Workspace member, be sure to choose their use role from the dropdown menu.
  3. Click invite!

So maybe I don’t want one member to see this member I’m inviting in. Or, maybe I don’t want them to see the client space. For whatever reason, I would go into my three dots and I would go down to sharing and permissions and I would make it private. 

However, if I  change my mind, I can go and make it public again. 

When you make things private, you can also invite other people into the workspace. So let’s say you had another member, you can invite them into this client space that way as well. 

If they were a member and I did not want them to see the space, I would make it private and then they would only see my HQ team and marketing folders. 

ClickUp User Roles: Assigning Access

From here you can assign a user with member access or give them admin access. 

By giving a member admin access, you’re giving them more ability to manipulate things, change things, do all of that kind of stuff inside of your ClickUp account. Essentially, as an admin, you can basically do anything that the owner of the workspace can do.

So when I do my ClickUp build outs, when I’m inside of people’s workspaces, things like that, that’s the access that I need to be able to create your automations. This allows me to create new folders and templates and all of those kinds of things.

I think that’s a really important distinction to know between member and admin. With member access, you still get have a lot of flexibility, but you don’t have the ability to create new spaces or do those kinds of things. You just have access to the things that you need. 

ClickUp User Roles: Guests

You have the ability here to invite up to ten guests at a business plan level. 

Click Up: Pricing Plans 

There are several plans that ClickUp offers. Depending on the ClickUp  plan you have will determine how many guests you will be allowed to have. For every member that I pay for, I get an additional either five or ten guests.

If you’re on unlimited, you get five guest seats per person per member. If you are on business plan, you get ten per year, you get ten to start and then five after that for each extra member you add. So anytime you bring in a new member or add a new member to your workspace, you are paying for their seats, but you’re getting an additional five guest seats. 

So what’s the difference?

Let’s say you’re a Space level and you want to add a new guest… You won’t be able to. Why? Because you cannot give access to guests at a Space level.

However, you can do that at a Folder level and a List level. 

You can even get as granular as going to a Task. But if I go into, let’s say I wanted to give them access to my SOPS and Resources, I’m going to go ahead and go again to those three dots, sharing and permissions.

When you give someone access to a folder, they’ll have access to anything within that folder. 

Whereas, view-only access will only allow you to look at a task. You won’t be able to:

  • interact with them
  • comment
  • change statuses
  • edit

With member access, you have a little bit more flexibility where you can do some editing to tasks and things like that. 

And then with full access means that you can edit tasks. You can also create brand-new ones.

Typically when you’re inviting people in, it’s going to of course, depend on their role within your company, within your business, or maybe they’re a client, and you want to give them some level of access. 

Those things are really important to think through. Oftentimes what I tell people is when you’re giving clients access, really all they need is comment access. Because we don’t want them changing things, right? We want them to be able to comment only.

We want them to be able to move things to a different status, like to the approved status, things like that. So that’s really what I would recommend. If you’re inviting clients into the workspace for edit or sorry, for team members, I would depend upon their role in the company. I would not recommend you give them edit access or full access. 

We want to give them some flexibility to be able to create their own tasks or at least edit them. Of course, this is completely up to you and what their role is. 

Tips and Tricks: Working with Separate ClickUp Workspaces

So maybe you have multiple businesses or maybe you use ClickUp for personal use and for business, whatever that might look like for you.

I get these types of questions all the time:

Well, do I put both of my businesses or my multiple businesses in one workspace? 

Do I keep them separate? 

How do I know what I’m supposed to be doing? 

If they’re separate, what do I do? 

So depending upon the size of the business, if you have multiple team members working across different businesses, there’s a lot of nuances and different things that kind of play into it. But if you do decide that you want to keep the two entities separate, there’s a way to sort of integrate the two together, which can be helpful. 

So one of those ways is to actually embed your To Do list from one workspace into another. And this can be done inside of a dashboard, which is really, really helpful.

How to:

  1. Go to add a widget.
  2. Add a Custom Embed widget
  3. Grab the URL from your desired To Do list in your workspace.

You can now interact, comment and many other things within the workspace. 

So, if you want to find a workaround, a way to combine different Workspaces and work a little bit more efficiently and productively, then embed is going to be your friend. 

You can toggle between any of your workspaces. You can definitely toggle between the two that way as well.

You don’t necessarily have to do any embeds, you can just toggle, but it’s entirely up to you. If you want to see everything in one space, this is a really good workaround!

I teach monthly ClickUp 101 Training inside the ClickUp for Entrepreneurs, Agencies, Marketers, & CEOs Facebook group. Be sure to join the group and join the next training November 16th at 10:30 PST.

Learn how to implement different features & functionalities inside of your workspace to increase your impact on your clients. Grab my tried and tested Plug & Play templates! Keep yourself and your workspace organized with templates for SOP & Resource Management, Team Recruitment and Onboarding, Marketing, and more! My templates will be 50% starting Black Friday November 24th- November 28th. Do not miss out!

ClickUp User Roles: Members vs. Guests

ClickUp Set Up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

DFY Services

DIY TEmplates

For more, check out my services to help you streamline, systemize, and optimize your systems!

Join over 1500 others in the ClickUp for Entrepreneurs, Agencies, Marketers, & CEOs
FREE Facebook group to discuss, share, and learn about ClickUp solutions across
industries and user levels

Tips, Feedback, and Support Across Industries

Join the ClickUp Community

JOIN NOW